First 5 Butte County (the Commission) is made up of nine Commissioners, two alternate Commissioners and staff that carries out the Commission’s work. Commissioners are appointed by the Butte County Board of Supervisors and include representatives from the Board of Supervisors, County departments, and individuals who have an expertise in serving children and families. Commissioners serve two-year terms and can be re-appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Often serving on multiple committees of the Commission, Commissioners volunteer their time and service.

John Burghardt, Chair
Attorney at Law

Tim Taylor, Vice Chair
Butte County Office of Education

Shelby Boston, Commissioner
Butte County Department of Employment and Social Services

Maureen Kirk, Commissioner
Butte County Board of Supervisors

Sandra Machida, Ph.D., Commissioner
Professor of Psychology
California State University, Chico

Karen Marlatt, Commissioner
Executive Director
Valley Oak Children’s Services

‎Cathy Raevsky, Commissioner
Butte County Department of Public Health

Talia Scherquist, Commissioner
Parent  and Consumer

Lorenzo Tobias, Commissioner
Parent  and Consumer