Become a Commissioner

The Commission is comprised of 9 Commissioners and 5 Alternative Commissioners, and welcomes individuals from diverse backgrounds and experiences, with the following affiliations, to participate as Commissioners:

  • Recipients of project services as set forth in the county strategic plan;
  • Educators specializing in early childhood development;
  • Representatives of a local organization for prevention or early intervention for families at risk;
  • Representatives of community-based organizations that have the goal of promoting nurturing and early childhood development;
  • Representatives of local school districts;
  • Representatives of local medical, pediatric, or obstetric associations or societies;
  • The county health officer and/or persons responsible for the management of the following county functions: children's services, public health services, behavioral health services, social services, and tobacco and other substance abuse prevention and treatment services;
  • Representatives of a local child care resource or referral agency, or a local child care coordinating group.